Carrot/Apple/Coconut Muffins

First I apologize for the picture. If you follow my other blog you know me and cameras (especially the one I own now), have a tough relationship.

Coconut KILLS my stomach, so I omitted the coconut from this recipe. This round of muffins was for my ever-attempting-fail-some-success tries at getting Emily to eat fruits/veggies.

I think they turned out ok. However, I do not have a grater (I definitely need one I realized), so I did not grate the carrots and apples like the recipe says to do. I chopped them up into very tiny pieces, but still, it did not work so well. The pieces tend to fall out and of course, Emily does not want to eat whole pieces of carrots … ooooh the horror!

So if you try this recipe, it is better to actually grate the ingredients.

Sorry for the blurry picture.

This recipe was from Weelicious.com.

Carrot, Apple & Coconut Muffins (Makes 30 Mini Muffins)

1 1/2 Cups All Purpose Flour
1 Tsp Baking Powder
1/2 Tsp Baking Soda
1/2 Tsp Salt
1/2 Cup Unsweetened Coconut Flakes
2 Carrots, peeled & grated, about 1 cup
1 Apple, peeled & grated, about 1/2 cup (gala, fuji, pink lady or red delicious are good choices)
2 Large Eggs
1 Tsp Vanilla Extract
1/3 Cup Milk
1/4 Cup Vegetable or Canola Oil
1/2 Cup Honey

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
2. Combine the first 7 ingredients in a bowl.
3. In a separate bowl, combine the remaining ingredients.
4. Slowly add the dry ingredients into the wet and stir to combine.
5. Place 1 tbsp of batter into greased mini muffin tins.
6. Bake for 15 minutes.
7. Serve.

Leave a comment